قوة الدعاء

بقلم آمنة ميرزا


blog 1 20 21 power of dua

كانت الساعة 5:45 صباحًا في الوقت الذي اجد صعوبة لمغادرة سريري الدافئ، لكن دقات هاتفي الخلوي بدأت تعلن بدء  يومي. من عادتي السيئة ان اتفقد هاتفي بحثًا عن الرسائل بينما اكون نصف نائمة، امسك بهاتفي بإحدى يدي بينما الأخرى تمسك بفرشاة أسناني، أبدأ بفحص الإشعارات. في هذا الصباح بالذات أرسل لي مديري التنفيذي خليل دمير رسالة عبر مجموعة المحادثات، إنه لا يفعل ذلك عادة في هذا الوقت المبكر، لذلك فتحت رسالته بسرعة بينما توقفت عن تنظيف اسناني. كانت رسالة مختصرة "يجب أن نسدد ديونها".

من خلال العمل في مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية ،والتي هي مؤسسة تقدم مساعدات إنسانية،لم تكن الرسالة غريبة بالنسبة لي. يمكن أن يتحدث عن أحد المستفيدين من برامجنا سبل العيش، أو يمكن أن يشير إلى موظف يحتاج إلى المساعدة ،وهو إنساني في نهاية المطاف، لقد فتحت الرابط عندما كنت أغسل بعيداً.

أستطيع أن أغمض عيني اليوم، وأتذكر التفاصيل  الصورة بعد أشهر من الآن : فتاة صغيرة ذات شعر أشعث ، ووجهها مغطى بالأوساخ ، وظروف معيشية سيئة ، وأم تحمل طفلًا صغيرًا على مسافة بعيدة منها.الرابط كان يحتوي على مقال وول ستريت جورنال ، بينما تغرق أفغانستان في العوز ، يبيع البعض الأطفال للبقاء على قيد الحياة. صعقت. توقفت عن كل ما كنت أفعله واتكأت على حافة المغسلة وقرأت كل كلمة كتبها سعيد شاه. دقات قلبي تتسارع ، بدأت في البكاء بلا حسيب ولا رقيب هناك في حمامي في الساعة 6 صباحًا. توفير 550  دولارًا  فقط  لسداد الديون تحمي فتاة صغيرة لا تبلغ  من العمر سوى 3 سنوات من البيع.  إنه لأمر مدهش كيف شعرت في غضون ثوان بالعديد من المشاعر المختلطة، والأكثر إثارة للدهشة هو كيف بدأت تلك المشاعر تتجلى كعرق في راحتي، وجفاف فمي، والشعور بالذنب في قلبي. أي نوع من العالم الذي  نعيش فيه؟ كيف يمكن بيع طفل عمره 3 سنوات لسداد دين؟ أين هي إنسانيتنا؟

أصعب جزء في عملي كرئيس تنفيذي للِتسويق هو اختيار المحتوى للمساعدة في سرد ​​القصص لدينا. بحثت في مئات الصور ، وساعات من لقطات الفيديو، وعشرات من مقابلات المستفيدين، لاختيار الصورة التي أعتقد أنها تشد انتباه شخصًا،وما وتشجعه على التبرع بمبلغ 50 دولارًا لكفالة يتيم ، أو 7 دولارات لإرسال بطانية دافئة للاجئين. العيون التي رأيتها في المحتوى الخاص بنا تطاردني. لقد ذرفت الكثير من الدموع على مر السنين، صدقني  لا يوجد نقص في المحتوى المؤلم من جميع أنحاء العالم ، ولكن لسبب ما بقيت هذه الصورة وهذه القصة معي. لم أستطع المضي قدما.

كأم  أسأل نفسي في كثير من الأحيان ، "ماذا لو كانت فتياتي في هذا الموقف؟"

"ماذا لو كانت فتياتي في مخيم للاجئين ينمن على الأرض الباردة؟"

"ماذا لو لم يكن لدي خيار سوى بيع طفلي من أجل العيش؟"

سيناريوهات يستحيل التفكير فيها ناهيك عن العيش فيها. سيكون من السذاجة أن أظن أن لدي أي علاقة فعلية بالمسألة بطريقة ما ، وبسبب اختياراتي ، لن تكون فتياتي في هذه المواقف أبدًا. حقيقة الأمر هي أن مواقف مثل تلك الموجودة في المقالة لا علاقة لها بالاختيار وإنما كل ما يتعلق بالنصيب، لا شيء سوى القدر. لست أفضل من الأم  صالحة الواردة في المقال. القدر هو الذي يميزنا لا التقوى ولا الاستحقاق. إذًا كيف يمكننا أن نجد السلام في حياتنا عندما نعلم أن هناك عددًا لا يحصى من حالة صالحة؟ كيف يمكننا تغيير القدر؟

من بين كل القصص المفجعة في العالم ، لماذا جاءتني قصة صالحة ، ولماذا شعرت بارتباط عميق بهذه المرأة التي لم أقابلها من قبل؟  لا يوجد بيننا أي روابط ومع ذلك كانت تسيطر على فكري. لماذا ؟ بسبب قوة الدعاء.

قوة الدعاء تغير القدر (الترمذي). الدعاء هو جوهر العبادة. فهو يتدفق من بني البشر،من أعماق قلوبنا،مباشرة إلى الله. نحن نعتقد هذا كمسلمين.

نعتقد أن الدعاء هو العبادة. فما هو أقوى من دعاء الأم لولدها؟ تجاوزت قوة الدعاء آلاف الأميال ، وعبرت المحيطات والقارات إلى قلبي. ادعية صالحة شقت طريقها لي. أنا لا أحاول على الإطلاق أن أقول إنني من استجاب لدعائها، لا سمح الله.

لكنني أؤمن أنه عندما نبدأ التواصل مع خالقنا ندرك أن علينا واجبًا على هذه الأرض لمساعدة بعضنا البعض، لنحب بعضنا البعض لفعل الخي، من الصعب تجاهل صرخات الظلم القادمة من بعيد. صالحة تحتاج إلى المساعدة. أعلم أنها كانت تبكي في  لياليها وأيامها وتقلق وتتوسل لتغيير مصيرها. كان الدعاء سلاحها الوحيد. دفعت دعواتها السيد شاه للعثور عليها و مشاركة قصتها. شقت دعواتها طريقها إلى عدد لا يحصى من الغرباء الذين ساهموا في تغيير مصيرها.

من خلال حملة التعهيد الجماعي لجمع التبرعات (FundRazr)، تبرع الغرباء المثاليون بأكثر من 65 ألف دولار إلى صالحة ، وسددوا ديونها البالغة 550 دولارًا ، وأنقذوا ابنتها ومساعدتها في بناء مستقبلها. سيتم استخدام الأموال أيضًا لمساعدة الآخرين في مواقف مشابه.

لا أقبل وصول قصة صالحة لي كان صدفة. كثير من الناس. حاول الكثيرون إقناعي أنها كانت مصادفة. يقول الكثيرون إنه نظرًا لطبيعة العمل الذي اقوم به، كنت ملزمًا بالعثور على صالحة و مضطرًا لمساعدتها.

أقول لهم إن شاء الله لا أتوقف عن الانفعال لفعل الخير مهما كان السبب. آمل أن تشق قوة الدعاء طريقها إليك كل يوم، وقد تجبرك على فعل الخير.

لننظر في إرسال مساعدات طارئة إلى أفغانستان

تبرع اليوم

The Power of Dua

by Amna Mirza

blog 1 20 21 power of dua

It was 5:45 a.m.; I was struggling to get out of my warm bed, but the dings from my phone started barging into my day. It’s my usual (bad habit) routine to check my phone for messages while half-asleep. With one hand on my phone and one hand gripping my toothbrush, I start swiping through my notifications. This particular morning, my Executive Director, Khalil Demir, sent me a Teams message; he doesn’t normally do that this early, so I quickly opened his message while brushing away. The message was just a link with the words, “We must pay her debt.”

Working at a Zakat Foundation of America, a humanitarian aid organization, the message didn’t strike me as odd. He could be talking about one of our beneficiaries in our livelihoods programs, or he could be referring to a staffer who needs help — he is a humanitarian after all. I clicked on the link as I rinsed away.

I can close my eyes today, months later, and remember the details in the picture: a little girl with disheveled hair, her face covered in dirt, poor living conditions, a mother holding a toddler in the distance. The link opened the Wall Street Journal article, As Afghanistan Sinks Into Destitution, Some Sell Children to Survive. I was paralyzed. I stopped whatever I was doing and leaned on the edge of my sink and read every word Saeed Shah wrote. My heart racing, I started crying uncontrollably right there in my bathroom at 6 a.m. A $550 debt that couldn’t be repaid in cash would be forgiven by selling a 3-year-old girl into a life of servitude. It’s amazing how in a matter of seconds I could feel so many different emotions. Even more amazing is how those emotions started manifesting as the sweat in my palms, the dryness of my mouth, the guilt in my heart. What kind of world do we live in? How can a 3-year-old child be sold to pay back a debt? Where was our humanity?

The hardest part of my job as Chief Marketing Officer is to select content to help our storytelling. I dig through hundreds of pictures, hours of video footage, and dozens of beneficiary testimonials to pick the one I think will inspire someone most to support; to give $50 to sponsor an orphan, or $7 to send a warm blanket to refugees. The eyes I have seen in our content haunt me. I’ve shed many tears over the years — trust me, there is no shortage of painful content from around the world, but for some reason this image and this story stayed with me. I could not move forward.

As a mother, I ask myself more often than not, “What if it were my girls in that situation?” 

“What if my girls were in a refugee camp sleeping on the cold ground?” 

“What if I had no choice but to sell my child in order to live?” 

Impossible scenarios to think through let alone live through. It would be naïve of me to think I actually had anything to do with the matter — that somehow, because of my choices, my girls would never be in those situations. The fact of the matter is situations like the one in the article have little to do with choice and everything to do with kismet, nothing but destiny. I am not any better than Saleha, the mother in the article. It’s destiny that differentiates us, not piety, or deservedness. So how, then, can we find peace in our lives when we know there are countless Salehas? How can we change destinies? 

Of all the heartbreaking stories in the world, why did Saleha’s story come to me, and why did I feel so deeply connected to this woman whom I’ve never met?  We don’t share any bonds and yet there she was, taking over my thoughts. Why? Because of the power of dua.

The power of dua changes destinies (Tirmidhi). Dua is the essence of worship. It flows from our inner beings, from the deepest part of our hearts, directly to God. We believe this as Muslims. We believe prayer is worship. What, then, is stronger than a mother’s prayer for her child? The power of dua transcended thousands of miles, crossing oceans and continents into my heart. Saleha’s duas made their way to me. I’m not at all trying to say I was the answer to her prayer, God forbid. But I do believe that when we open ourselves up to connecting with our Creator and understand that we have a duty on this earth to help one another, to love one another, to do good — the cries and injustices from afar are hard to ignore. Saleha prayed for help. I know her nights and days were spent crying and worrying, begging for her destiny to change. Dua was her only weapon. Her duas led Mr. Shah to find her — to share her story. Her duas made their way to countless strangers who helped change her destiny. Through a crowdsourcing fundraiser campaign on FundRazr, perfect strangers donated over $65K to Saleha, repaying her $550 debt, saving her daughter, and helping her build a future. The funds will also be used to help others in similar situations.

I don’t accept that me coming to learn of Saleha was a coincidence. Many might. Many have tried to convince me it was a coincidence. Many say given the line of work I’m in, I was bound to find Saleha and be compelled to help. To them, I say, in sha Allah, God willing, I never stop being moved to do goodness, whatever the reason may be. May the power of dua make its way to you every day, and may it compel you to do good.

Consider Sending Emergency Aid to Afghanistan

Donate Today