فريقنا

800x800 Image
المؤسس والمدير التنفيذي

خليل دمير

ولد خليل في قرية نائية في جنوب شرق تركيا ، وأدرك الفقر في سن مبكرة. نشأ على يد والدين غير متعلمين ، وكان متعطشًا للمعرفة وقام بتجميع قصاصات محو الأمية التي يمكن أن يقدمها له والديه ، وعلم نفسه القراءة في سن مبكرة. بدأ خليل حياته المهنية كطالب قبل مغادرته تركيا لمتابعة تعليمه في سويسرا. هناك ، حصل على درجة البكالوريوس في علم الاجتماع قبل المتابعة إلى الولايات المتحدة ، حيث حصل على درجات علمية متقدمة في التاريخ والإدارة غير الربحية.

أسس مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية في عام 2001 مع مجموعة من المسلمين الذين يسعون إلى تحسين حياة الفقراء في جميع أنحاء العالم. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، أشرف على إنشاء المدارس ودور الأيتام وبرامج التدريب المهني والعيادات الصحية في جميع أنحاء العالم. إنشاء آبار المياه والمساجد والمراكز المجتمعية في إفريقيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ومحمية نافاجو ؛ إيصال ملايين الدولارات كمساعدات إنسانية طارئة للناجين من الحروب والكوارث الطبيعية وغيرها من الكوارث.

800x800 Image
مدير اتصالات العلامة التجارية

أمل علي

أكملت أمل علي دراساتها العليا في جامعة شيكاغو ، حيث أجرت بحثًا تجريبيًا أصليًا حول الخبرات التثقيفية للشباب الأمريكي المسلم. قبل انضمامها إلى مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية ، كانت مديرة تنمية الشباب في مجلس المنظمات الإسلامية في شيكاغو الكبرى. صممت وأدارت برامج لتسهيل ثقافة تنمية الشباب المحلي. تتمتع أمل بأكثر من 25 عامًا من الخبرة في إدارة المشاريع والقيادة التي تحركها العاطفة.

800x800 Image
المستشار العام

كامران أسلم شودري

كمران هو محامي معاملات من الجيل الثاني من عائلة لديها محامون محنكون وموظفون مدنيون. أمضى خمس سنوات في المشاريع والبنية التحتية وثلاث سنوات في Global Transportation Finance ، حيث قدم المشورة للرعاة والممولين والحكومات ووكالات التنمية متعددة الأطراف لمساعدتهم على إكمال المعاملات التجارية في أكثر من 40 دولة مختلفة. ذهب إلى المنزل لمساعدة مركز خليل - مشروع مؤسسة الزكاة - في توسيع نطاق عمله على الصعيد الوطني والدولي.

800x800 Image
مدير علاقات المانحين

أمينة دمير

أمينة دمير موظفة في مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية لأكثر من 12 عامًا ، بدأت كمتدربة وانتقلت من البرامج إلى قسم المحاسبة. بعد أن أمضت طفولتها في سويسرا مع أم أمريكية من أصل أفريقي وأب كردي ، فإنها تنظر إلى العالم من خلال أطياف متعددة. تلهم خلفيتها متعددة الثقافات معظم أعمالها. تخرجت أمينة بامتياز مع مرتبة الشرف في التاريخ مع التركيز على تاريخ الأمريكيين من أصل أفريقي منذ عام 1845. وهي جزء من الجمعية الأمريكية التاريخية.

مدير التطوير وجمع الأموال

رضا فروخ

بعد 20 عامًا من الخدمة في مختبرات أبحاث AT & T ، مهد رضا الطريق للنشاط الإسلامي في أمريكا. لم يكن غريباً عن التطوع والمشاركة ، فقد شغل منصب رئيس فرع شيكاغو للدائرة الإسلامية في أمريكا الشمالية في أواخر الثمانينيات. قام بتطوير مواقع إسلامية وبرامج عائلية ، وهو مؤسس "لماذا الإسلام" ، وهي منظمة دعوة تشارك المعلومات الدقيقة للإسلام عبر أمريكا الشمالية. عمل رضا لمدة عشر سنوات كرئيس تنفيذي لمنظمة يد المساعدة للإغاثة والتنمية.

مدير العمليات

أمل حامد

انضمت أمل حميد إلى مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية في عام 2015 ، بعد فترة ليست بالطويلة 20 عامًا في السفارة الأمريكية في السودان والقنصلية الأمريكية في جدة. عملت في قسم المشتريات والموارد البشرية ومشرفة المقاولات. كموظفة مخلصة ، حصلت على تأشيرة الهجرة الخاصة ، والتي سمحت لها بالعودة إلى البلد الذي تخرجت فيه من المدرسة الثانوية. بدأت في قسم برامج مؤسسة الزكاة ثم انتقلت إلى قسم العمليات.

رئيس التسويق والاتصالات

آمنة ميرزا

آمنة ميرزا هي خبيرة تسويق استراتيجي بارعة تتمتع بخبرة تزيد عن 15 عامًا في بناء علامات تجارية قوية وتقديم حملات فعالة حائزة على جوائز. عملت مع علامات تجارية مشهورة عالميًا مثل PBS و Independent Lens و Blue Shield of California و Zaytuna College. تتمتع آمنة بسجل حافل من زيادة حصتها في السوق وتفوقها على المنافسة وتعظيم الأرباح من خلال الحملات متعددة القنوات. تترجم البحث إلى استراتيجية وتحول الإستراتيجية إلى إبداعية مقنعة.

800x800 Image
مدير الموارد البشرية

ماجدة نبهان

عملت ماجدة لأكثر من 15 عامًا في مجال المساعدات الإنسانية والتنموية محليًا وخارجيًا. شغلت مناصب قيادية في CARE International ، Secours Islamique France ، والتعاون التقني البلجيكي. قادت الفريق بصفتها مديرة البرنامج في مكتب BTC فلسطين انضمت ماجدة إلى مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية في عام 2015 وترأس حاليًا قسم الموارد البشرية على المستوى الوطني وجميع المكاتب الدولية في الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وآسيا.


BOARD of DIRECTORS

د. حسن ارسلان

رئيس مجلس الإدارة

كطالب ، كان الدكتور حسن أرسلان من المدافعين عن القضايا الاجتماعية في تركيا. ظل قلقه واهتمامه بالجهود الإنسانية معه عندما انتقل إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. أكمل الدكتور أرسلان درجة الدكتوراه في علوم الكمبيوتر من جامعة إلينوي في شيكاغو. خلال دراسته ، كرس وقت فراغه لمساعدة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية بمهاراته وخبراته. انضم الدكتور أرسلان إلى مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الزكاة في عام 2005 وانتخب رئيسًا في عام 2007.

عايدة عبد الله

امينة صندوق

انضمت عايدة عبد الله إلى مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية في عام 2011 بعد التطوع مع المنظمة على المستوى الإداري. تابعت دراستها الابتدائية وهي سكرتيرة قانونية لشركة في وسط مدينة شيكاغو. تطوعت أيضًا كمستشارة للشباب في مركز أورلاند بارك للصلاة. لا تزال متطوعة نشطة في المجتمع.y.

سوسن حبالي

عضو

سوسن حبالي محاسب متخصص في العقارات مع أكثر من 15 عامًا من الخبرة المهنية. انخرطت في المنظمة في عام 2003 ، وانتقلت من متبرعة إلى متطوعة متفانية ، وبعد ذلك أصبحت عضوًا في مجلس الإدارة. أكملت مهمة لمدة أسبوعين في مارس 2011 إلى الحدود الليبية مع الفريق ، حيث شاركت في جهود الإغاثة الطارئة لمساعدة المدنيين الذين يعانون في أعقاب النزاع. عادت سوسن حبالي إلى مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الزكاة عام 2016.

فاطمة خليل

عضو

فاطمة هي رائدة أعمال ، وسيدة أعمال ناجحة ، ومنظّمة مجتمعية ، وقائدة ، ومعالج ، وإنسانية بطبيعتها. التزمت طواعية بإدارة برنامج الخدمات الاجتماعية لمؤسسة الزكاة. لقد ساعدت في وضع بروتوكولات لتقييم الاحتياجات والحفاظ على كرامة المستفيدين. ومن المعروف أنها تنظم الناس بشكل مستقل وتسعى للمساعدة كلما دعت الحاجة إلى ذلك بين اللاجئين والمجتمعات الفقيرة. انضمت فاطمة خليل إلى مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الزكاة في عام 2018.

دكتور محمد ترهان

عضو

عمل الدكتور محمد ترهان بصفة إدارية مع مكتب مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية في اسطنبول لأكثر من أربع سنوات متتالية. حصل الدكتور ترهان على درجة الدكتوراه في الدراسات الدينية من جامعة تمبل عام 1996. وأسس أبحاثه على التعليم الديني في تركيا. انضم الدكتور ترهان إلى مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الزكاة في عام 2016.

Our Leadership Team

800x800 Image
Executive Director

Khalil Demir

Born in a remote village in Southeastern Turkey, Halil understood poverty at a young age. Raised by unschooled parents, he thirsted for knowledge and pieced together the scraps of literacy his parents could offer him, teaching himself to read at a young age. Halil began his activist career as a student before leaving Turkey to pursue his education in Switzerland. There, he obtained a bachelor’s degree in sociology before continuing on to the United States, where he obtained advanced degrees in history and nonprofit management.

He founded Zakat Foundation of America in 2001 with a group of Muslims driven to improve the lives of the poor worldwide. Since then, he has overseen the establishment of schools, orphanages, vocational training programs, and health clinics around the world; the construction of water wells, mosques and community centers in Africa, USA, and the Navajo reservation; the delivery of millions of dollars in emergency humanitarian aid to survivors of wars, natural disasters and other catastrophes.

800x800 Image
Director, Brand Communications

Amal Ali

Amal Ali completed her graduate studies at the University of Chicago, where she conducted original empirical research on Muslim American youth's acculturative experiences. Before joining the Zakat Foundation of America, she was Director of Youth Development at the Council of Islamic Organizations of Greater Chicago. She designed and directed programs to facilitate a culture for nurturing local youth development. Amal has more than 25 years of passion-driven project management and leadership experience.

800x800 Image
General Counsel

Kamran Aslam Chaudri

Kamran is a second-generation transactional attorney from a family with seasoned legal advocates and civil servants. He spent five years in Projects and Infrastructure and three years in Global Transportation Finance, advising sponsors, financiers, governments, and multilateral development agencies to help them complete business transactions in over 40 different countries. He went in-house to assist Khalil Center — a Zakat Foundation Project — in expanding its work nationwide and internationally.

800x800 Image
Director, Donor Relations

Amina Demir

Amina Demir has been a Zakat Foundation of America employee for over 12 years, starting as an intern and moving from Programs to the Accounting Department. Having spent her childhood in Switzerland with an African-American mother and Kurdish father, She views the world through multiple spectrums. Her multicultural background inspires most of her work. Amina graduated Cum Laude in History with a focus on African American History since 1845. She is part of the American Historical Association.

Director, Development & Fundraising

Raza Farrukh

After 20 years of service at AT&T’s Research Labs, Raza paved the way for Islamic activism in America. No stranger to volunteering and engagement, he served as the President of the Chicago Chapter of the Islamic Circle of North America in the late 1980s. He developed Islamic websites and family programs and is a founder of “Why Islam,” a da’wah organization that shares Islam’s accurate information across North America. Raza served ten years as CEO of Helping Hand for Relief and Development.

Director, Operations

Amal Hamid

Amal Hamid joined the Zakat Foundation of America in 2015, not long after about 20 years at the American Embassy in Sudan and the American Consulate in Jeddah. She worked in the procurement section, human resources, and as a contracting supervisor. As a loyal employee, she was granted the Special Immigrant Visa, which allowed her to move back to the country where she graduated high school. She started in Zakat Foundation’s Programs Department and then moved to the Operations Department.

Head of Marketing & Communications

Amna Mirza

Amna Mirza is a savvy, strategic brand marketing expert with over 15 years of experience building strong brands and delivering effective award-winning campaigns. She has worked with world-renowned brands such as PBS, Independent Lens, Blue Shield of California, and Zaytuna College. Amna has a track record of increasing market share, outperforming the competition and maximizing profits through multi-channel campaigns. She translates research into strategy and turns strategy into compelling creative.

800x800 Image
Director, Human Resources

Majeda Nabhan

Majeda has worked for more than 15 years in humanitarian and development aid domestically and abroad. She has held leadership positions at CARE International, Secours Islamique France, and the Belgian Technical Cooperation. She led the team as Program Director for the BTC Palestine Office. Majeda joined the Zakat Foundation of America in 2015 and currently heads the HR department nationally and all international offices in the Middle East, Africa, and Asia.


BOARD of DIRECTORS

Dr. Hasan Arslan

Chair of Board

As a student, Dr. Hasan Arslan was an advocate for social issues in Turkey. His concern and interest in humanitarian efforts remained with him when he moved to the United States of America. Dr. Arslan completed his Ph. D. in Computer Science at the University of Illinois in Chicago. During his studies, he dedicated his free time to helping the Zakat Foundation of America with his skills and experience. Dr. Arslan joined Zakat Foundation’s Board in 2005 and was elected President in 2007.

Dr. Mehmet Tarhan

Vice President

Dr. Mehmet Tarhan worked in an administrative capacity with the Zakat Foundation of America’s Istanbul office for more than four consecutive years. Dr. Tarhan obtained his doctorate in Religious Studies from Temple University in 1996. He based his research on religious education in Turkey. Dr. Tarhan joined Zakat Foundation’s Board in 2016.

Aidah Abdallah

Treasurer

Aidah Abdallah joined the Zakat Foundation of America board in 2011 after volunteering with the organization at the administrative level. She pursued her elementary teaching degree and is a legal secretary for a firm in downtown Chicago. She has also volunteered as a youth counselor at the Orland Park Prayer Center. She continues to be an active volunteer in the community.



Sawsan Habali

Secretary

Sawsan Habali is an accountant specializing in real estate with over 15 years of professional experience. She became involved with the organization in 2003, going from donor to dedicated volunteer and, later on, a board member. She completed a two-week mission in March 2011 to the Libyan border with the team, participating in an emergency relief effort to assist the civilians suffering in the wake of the conflict. Sawsan Habali rejoined Zakat Foundation’s Board in 2016.

Fatima Khalil

Board Member

Fatima is an entrepreneur, successful businesswoman, community organizer, leader, healer, and a humanitarian by nature. She has voluntarily committed to managing the Zakat Foundation’s social services program. She has helped establish protocols for need assessment and the preservation of beneficiaries’ dignity. She is known to independently organize people and efforts to help whenever the need arises among refugee and poor communities. Fatima Khalil joined Zakat Foundation’s Board in 2018.