مقال مصور

المدير التنفيذي خليل دمير يزور باكستان وأفغانستان


اجتمع مع المسؤولين الحكوميين والأطباء وغيرهم من كبار الشخصيات لمناقشة المشاريع القادمة.


تقوم مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية  بتقديم الإغاثة والتنمية، وأشكال أخرى من المساعدات الإنسانية في جنوب آسيا منذ عام 2002. وقد استجابت المؤسسة للكوارث الطبيعية، بما في ذلك الزلازل والفيضانات وأمواج تسونامي والحروب و أزمات اللاجئين .

عاد المدير التنفيذي خليل دمير مؤخرًا من رحلته التي زار فيها باكستانPakistan و أفغانستان Afghanistan، و قام خلالها بتقييم عدد من المشاريع القائمة والمستقبلية ، وذلك نتيجة التقدم الذي أحرزته مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية على مدار العشرين عامًا الماضية. و قد رأى ثمار الأعمال الخيرية التي قام بها قبل عقود، وهي الآن تفيد المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء باكستان وأفغانستان.

IMG 20220309 WA0035

حيث التقى السيد دمير بالطلاب الأيتام الخريجين من مدرسة الرومي الداخلية التي أنشأها في عام 2002 ،للأيتام الأفغان والأطفال اللاجئين في منطقة هاريبور بباكستان. وأوضح له الخريجون أنهم اعتادوا على رؤية اسم مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية على لافتات في المدرسة ، لكن كان الأمر مختلفًا عندما قابلوا الرجل الذي يقف وراء الجهود إلى ساعدت في تعليمهم ورعايتهم كأيتام. .

و سافر السيد دمير برحلته إلى إسلام أباد في نفس اليوم مسافة 200 كيلومتر إلى بيشاور للحصول على تأشيرة دخول من القنصلية الأفغانية.وقد زار في مركز الشلل النصفي في بيشاور ، وهو مرفق متخصص لإعادة تأهيل المصابين بشلل نصفي و رباعي. وأعرب دمير عن تطلعه للتعاون مع إلياس سيد الرئيس التنفيذي للمركز، للعمل حول برنامج سبل العيش لدى مؤسسة الزكاة.

PHOTO 2022 03 07 19 50 28

يذكر أن المركز هو مؤسسة عامة تابعة للقطاع العام و مركز لإعادة التأهيل. وهو مرفق عام فريد ومتخصص في باكستان و يخدم أيضا المرضى الأفغان. .

الثالث من اليسار إلياس سيد الرئيس التنفيذي للمركز، يتحدث مع خليل دمير (المدير التنفيذي لمؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية ، الثالث من اليمين أثناء قيامهما بجولة في المركز . | صورة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية

PHOTO 2022 03 07 19 50 35

يعتمد المركز طرقًا عديدة للحفاظ على نشاط المرضى .حيث تمت مشاهدتهم يلعبون كرة الطائرة. .

وكان على جدول أعمال السيد دمير في 8 مارس ثلاث زيارات في مدينة لاهور في باكستان.حيث سافر مع وفد مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية أكثر من 500 كيلومتر إلى عاصمة إقليم البنجاب لزيارة موقع مقترح لإقامة مستشفى. والتقى مع أطباء بارزين وكبار الشخصيات إدارة وموظفي مؤسسة الخدمات الإقليمية الشريكة في مكتبهم الرئيسي، للتباحث في مبادرة إنشاء مستشفى حديث في لاهور يسمى مستشفى الإنسانية في لاهور.

المرضى في المركز يلعبون كرة الطائرة في في 7 مارس في فناء المنشأة. | صورة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية

IMG 20220309 WA0028

وفي اليوم التالي لرحلته سافر لمِسافة 400 كيلومتر تقريبًا من إسلام أباد إلى كابول ، في أفغانستان.و التقى دمير في اليوم التالي مع مدير وزارة الخارجية، كما زار كلٍ من وزيري التربية والتعليم و وزير الصحة و التقى معهما في مكتبهما ، وزار مع وفد مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية سفارة باكستان للتعريف بالمؤسسة .

وزار السيد دمير مع الوفد المرافق له في 11 مارس / آذار مستشفى الهلال الأحمر الواقع خارج العاصمة كابول. وكان من الصعب الوصول إلى المنشأة المكونة من خمسة طوابق، والتي لا تحتوي على أثاث أو معدات أو أطباء. في اليوم التالي دعا دمير بصفته أيضًا رئيس المنتدى الإنساني للمسلمين الأمريكيين ، إلى عقد مؤتمر للمنظمات الإنسانية الإسلامية العاملة في كابول. .

من اليسار رضا فاروخ مستشار التنمية و التخطيط في مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية و من اليمين خليل دمير المدير التنفيذي خلال قيامهما بجولة في الموقع المقترح لبناء مستشفى في مدينة لاهور في باكستان.| صورة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية

IMG 20220312 WA0000

قام متطوعو مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية في 13 مارس بتوزيع المواد الغذائية في كابول. و شارك السيد دمير في التوزيع والتقى بالمستفيدين، واستمع لمشاكلهم الخاصة التي يواجهونها في مجتمعهم..

المدير التنفيذي خليل دمير يتحدث مع المستفيدين في يوم 13 مارس أثناء توزيع المواد الغذائية في كابول. | صورة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية

IMG 20220312 WA0002

قامت مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية ، بالتعاون مع هيئة إدارة الكوارث والطوارئ التركية ، بإرسال قطار مليء بالمواد الغذائية من تركيا إلى أفغانستان. وعند عودة السيد دمير إلى إسلام أباد في وقت لاحق من ذلك الأسبوع ، زار مع الوفد مدرسة الفتيات التابعة لمؤسسة التعليم والتنمية الريفية (READ Foundation) لمعرفة المزيد عن برامج المؤسسة والتقى الأطفال الأيتام..

من اليسار خليل دمير المدير التنفيذي يستعد لتقديم الطعام للمستفيدين الذين كانوا ينتظرون دورهم بكل صبر. | صورة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية.

IMG 9734

قاموا في نفس اليوم بزيارة مؤسسة خبيب في هاريبور، حيث قدمت المؤسسة عرضًا حول شراكتها مع مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية المستمرة منذ عام 2002. و أمضى السيد دمير وقتًا في التحدث مع الأطفال، ومع بقية أعضاء الوفد، و حضر بطولة التايكواندو التي استضافتها دار الأيتام..

خليل دمير والوفد المرافق له أثناء زيارتهم لدار أيتام مؤسسة الخبيب، حيث قام الأطفال بإعطائهم البطاقات التذكارية. | صورة مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية

IMG 9776

Photo Essay

Executive Director Khalil Demir visits Pakistan, Afghanistan

Meets with government officials, doctors and other dignitaries to discuss upcoming projects

Zakat Foundation of America has been providing relief, development and other forms of humanitarian aid in South Asia since 2002. The organization has responded to natural and man-made calamities in the region, including earthquakes, floods, tsunamis, wars, and the refugee crises. 

Executive Director Khalil Demir recently returned from a trip to Pakistan and Afghanistan that allowed him to assess current and new projects while looking back at the progress Zakat Foundation of America has made over the past 20 years. The metaphorical trees he planted decades ago flourished, and now they benefit today’s communities throughout Pakistan and Afghanistan.

IMG 20220309 WA0035

Demir met alumni orphan students from the Rumi boarding school he established in 2002 for Afghan orphans and refugee children in Pakistan’s Haripur district. Alumni explained to him that they were used to seeing Zakat Foundation of America’s name on banners at the school, but it was different to meet the man behind the movement that led to their education and care as orphans.

He began his trip in Islamabad and, that same day, traveled 200 kilometers to Peshawar to obtain a visa from the Afghan Consulate. In Peshawar, Demir visited Paraplegic Centre Peshawar, a specialized rehabilitation facility for paraplegics and quadriplegics. He conveyed interest in collaborating with the center’s CEO, Ilyas Syed, for Zakat Foundation of America’s livelihoods program.

PHOTO 2022 03 07 19 50 28

The Paraplegic Centre is a state-of-the-art public-sector institution and rehabilitation center. It is a unique and specialized public facility in Pakistan that also serves Afghan patients.

Ilyas Syed (Paraplegic Centre Peshawar’s CEO, third from left) speaks with Halil Demir (Zakat Foundation of America’s Executive Director, third from right) as they tour the Paraplegic Centre. | Zakat Foundation of America photo

PHOTO 2022 03 07 19 50 35

The Paraplegic Centre Peshawar finds ways to keep patients engaged and active. They’re seen above passing a ball around.

Three events were scheduled for the next day, March 8, in Lahore, Pakistan. Demir and the Zakat Foundation of America delegation traveled more than 500 kilometers to the Punjab province’s capital to visit a proposed hospital site, meet with prominent doctors and dignitaries to introduce the initiative to establish a state-of-the-art hospital in Lahore called the Humanity Hospital Lahore, and meet with regional partner Al-Khidmat Foundation’s management and staff at their head office.

Patients at the Paraplegic Centre Peshawar play a game March 7 in the facility’s courtyard. | Zakat Foundation of America photo

IMG 20220309 WA0028

The next day began with a nearly 400-kilometer trip to Islamabad for a trip to Kabul, Afghanistan. The day after that, Demir met with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Director. He also visited the Ministry of Education to meet with the Minister of Education in his office, visited the Ministry of Health to meet with the Minister of Health in his office, and visited the Pakistan embassy with the Zakat Foundation of America delegation to introduce the organization.

Demir and the Zakat Foundation of America group visited a Red Crescent Hospital outside Kabul on March 11. The five-story facility, which had no furniture, equipment or doctors, was difficult to access. The day after, Demir, who is also Chairman for the American Muslims Humanitarian Forum, called a conference for Muslim humanitarian organizations working in Kabul.

Zakat Foundation of America’s Raza Farrukh (U.S. Development/Planning Advisor, left) and Halil Demir (Executive Director, second from left) tour a site in Lahore, Pakistan where they intend to construct a hospital. | Zakat Foundation of America photo

IMG 20220312 WA0000

Zakat Foundation of America volunteers organized a food distribution in Kabul on March 13. Demir participated in the distribution and met with beneficiaries to better understand the particular problems their community faces.

Executive Director Halil Demir chats with beneficiaries at a March 13 food distribution in Kabul. | Zakat Foundation of America photo

IMG 20220312 WA0002

Zakat Foundation of America, in collaboration with Turkey’s Disaster and Management of Emergencies Authority, sent a train full of relief and food items to Afghanistan from Turkey. Upon traveling back to Islamabad later that week, the Zakat Foundation of America delegation visited Rural Education and Development Foundation (READ Foundation)’s girls’ school to learn more about their programs and meet with orphan children.

Executive Director Halil Demir (left) prepares to give food to beneficiaries patiently waiting. | Zakat Foundation of America photo

IMG 9734

That same day, they visited Khubaib Foundation in Haripur, where the foundation gave a presentation about its partnership with Zakat Foundation of America that has been ongoing since 2002. Demir spent time talking with the children and, with the rest of the delegation, attended a taekwondo tournament the orphanage hosted.

Halil Demir and the Zakat Foundation of America delegation visit a Khubaib Foundation orphanage, with which they partner, and are greeted with cards. | Zakat Foundation of America photo

IMG 9776