هل تجب الزكاة على تأجير العقارات؟


1920x1080 Image

الجواب المختصر؟

نعم ، إذا وصلت الزيادة إلى نصاب (عتبة الزكاة) خلال مرور السنة القمرية الإسلامية (حول). العقارات المؤجرة هي شكل متخصص من ثروة الأعمال تسمى "الأصول المستغلة" - ملكية لم يتم الحصول عليها للتجارة أو البيع في حد ذاتها ولكنها تؤدي إلى نمو المال من خلال الأرباح أو بيع ما تنتجه. حدد معظم العلماء نصاب الزكاة في الدخل الإيجاري بما يعادل 85 جرامًا من الذهب الخالص.

معدل الزكاة على أرباح العقارات المؤجرة هو ، في أفضل رأي العلماء ، إما 5٪ أو 10٪ ، حسب سهولة ودقة حسابه (10٪ في الغالبية العظمى من الحالات) ، بعد خصم نفقات المصاريف و الالتزامات والاحتياجات الشخصية الأساسية للمالك.

الجواب التفصيلي؟

يضع العلماء أسس دفع الزكاة على العقارات المستأجرة قياسا على الأراضي الزراعية ، قاعدة أساسية في الزكاة وتحديدا في حالة الأراضي الزراعية المؤجرة من قبل صاحبها هي أن المرء لا يدفع الزكاة مرتين على نفس العائد ، وهذا يشمل طرفين أو أكثر يدفعون الزكاة على نفس نوع الثروة أو نمو الزكاة ، على الرغم من أن الشركاء قد يكونوا مسؤولين بشكل نسبي عن إجمالي مدفوعات الزكاة على  العائد الواحد والموجودات المستغلة وفقا لحصتها من الناتج أو النمو.

ويرى جمهور العلماء أن استحقاق الزكاة يقع على صاحب إنتاج الأرض ، أي المزارع الذي يزرع ويحصد الأرض المملوكة أو المستأجرة ، وأن الزكاة لا تكون مستحقة بعد السنة القمرية بل وقت الحصاد، إذا بلغ النصاب الثابت لهذا النوع من الثروة (انظر ما هي الشروط التي تؤهل الثروة للزكاة؟).

يرى أبو حنيفة،الذي يحمل الاسم نفسه لمدرسة الحنفية للشريعة الإسلامية ، في رأي الأقلية ، أن الزكاة تقع على الأرض نفسها ، وبالتالي فهي واجبة على مالك الأرض.

أفضل رأي يوفق بين رأيي الأغلبية والأقلية مع دفعتين مشتركتين لكن منفصلتين للزكاة بمعدل زكاة زراعي محدد نبويًا يبلغ 5٪ على الحقول المروية و 10٪ على الأراضي التي تسقى طبيعياً.

1- المزارع الذي يؤجر الأرض يدفع الزكاة على غلة المحصول عند الحصاد بعد خصم تكلفة إيجار الأرض ، إذا كان العائد بعد ذلك لا يزال يصل إلى نصيبه ، أو عتبة دفع الزكاة.

2- مالك الأرض يدفع الزكاة على الجزء الذي يتقاضاه من نمو الأرض ، أي جزء الإيجار ، سواء كان المال أو المحاصيل بعد خصم تكاليف الإيجار ، بما في ذلك الضرائب العقارية والتحسينات والديون ، إلخ.

وبهذه الطريقة لا تدفع الزكاة مرتين على نفس تيار الثروة أثناء استقطاعها

  ضمان ألا يتحمل مالك الأرض ولا المزارع رسوم زكاة غير عادلة على أجزاء تتجاوز دخله أو عائده الفردي.

هل الزكاة مستحقة على إيراد الإيجار أو أصل الإيجار أو كلاهما ؟

اختلف العلماء في الممتلكات التي تجب عليها الزكاة، هل هو الأصل المادي المستأجر، الذي له بالفعل قيمة ، والذي قد ينمو - على سبيل المثال ، مبنى سكني يمتلكه المرء؟

أم أنه دخل إيجار العقار الذي يستأجره الشخص ، والذي قد يكون مساحة فعلية ، مثل مسكن أو مكتب ، وما إلى ذلك ، أو قد يكون أحد الأصول مثل قطعة مجوهرات أو سيارة، بعض المزارعين يؤجرون النحل ، على سبيل المثال لتلقيح المحاصيل.

الرأي الأول  يدعي أن الزكاة مستحقة على الأصل المادي نفسه، في الواقع  أن التصنيف الصحيح للأصل الإيجاري الذي يحصل عليه المرء يعتمد بشكل صحيح على القياس مع السلع التجارية التي يحصل عليها المرء للبيع:

1- يكسب المرء الأصل بقصد محدد لتحقيق ربح من تحويله إلى آخر

2- لديه القدرة على نمو القيمة في حد ذاته

3- يكسب المرء دخلاً مضموناً حتى يبيعه، مما يضمن ربحيته.

الحجة هنا هي أنه لا يوجد فرق كبير بين القيمة الإيجارية للأصول وبيع سلعة تجارية مباشرة ، وفي هذه الحالة يكون معدل الزكاة 2.5٪.

لكن هذا القول ضعيف من ثلاث جوانب:

1- إنه يتحدى التعريف البسيط للسلعة التجارية على أساس وصف الرسول عليه الصلاة والسلام ، وتعليماته بدفع الزكاة على الأصول المكتسبة لإعادة البيع بقصد الربح.

2- يتطلب تقييمات سنوية مرهقة ومكلفة ومملة لقيمة العقار ، بغض النظر عن نوعه ، بما في ذلك المزارع والبساتين والنباتات وتوقعات الغلة وما إلى ذلك. وهذا يتعارض بشكل مباشر مع أحكام الزكاة الأساسية المتفق عليها.

3- كما شهدنا للتو في جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال جائحة COVID-19 ، يمكن أن تفقد الأصول المؤجرة - مثل الفنادق ، والمكاتب ، والمركبات ، وما إلى ذلك - قيمة الاستخدام في أي وقت لأسباب لا يمكن التنبؤ بها للنقص أو الوقاية أو فقدان السوق المفاجئ.

هذا يؤدي هذا إلى استنتاج مفاده أن الزكاة على تأجير العقارات تجد أساسها الأكثر إعتماداً ليس على الأصل نفسه ، ولكن على الدخل الناتج عنه.

لماذا لا يعتبر معدل زكاة تأجير العقارات 2.5٪ مثل الإيرادات الأخرى؟

كما ذكرنا في البداية ، فإن أساس زكاة إيجار العقارات هو تشبيهها بالأراضي الزراعية، إنها ليست سلعة تجارية كما ذكرنا سلفاً، و الدخل من تأجير الممتلكات مثل المحاصيل المزروعة في الأراضي الزراعية، حيث يحصد المزارع إنتاجه من الأرض القائمة التي يزرعها. يحصد مالك العقار المستأجر عائدات العقار الثابتة من  المباني والمصانع والمكاتب والمنازل والسيارات والأدوات والمجوهرات -التي يقوم بتأجيره.

قاعدة في أماكن المعيشة ، أو المنازل ، على سبيل المثال ، أو أدوات الحرفي ، هي أنها معفاة من الزكاة لأنها حاجة شخصية أساسية، المساكن أو الأصول التي يؤجرها المرء للدخل تجب عليها الزكاة لأنها أصول مربحة و متنامية وجميع أصول النمو  تجب عليها الزكاة عليها لتطهير الثروة.

هذا الرأي  ليس حديثأً.أحمد بن حنبل ، المذهب الحنبلي للشريعة الإسلامية ، كان يملك محالاً استأجرها ودفع الزكاة  على دخل تلك الأملاك. كما فرض النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم الزكاة بنسبة 5٪ على الأصول المنقولة (تذكر النحل المستأجر للتلقيح ، أو تأجير السيارات اليوم) و 10٪ على الأصول الثابتة (المباني ، المساكن ، إلخ في عصرنا). فعل هذا عليه السلام فقط على الدخل الناتج عن هذه الأصول ، وليس على الأصول نفسها ، والتي لا يمكن تقسيمها لدفع الزكاة عليها مباشرة.

مقارنة معدلات زكاة الإيجار بناءً على هذا التمييز النبوي لمعدلات الزكاة بين الأصول الثابتة والمتنقلة (يمثل الهاتف المحمول نصف معدل الأصول الثابتة) ، ومقارنة الأصول الثابتة المنتجة اليوم بالإنتاج الزراعي (المروية بنسبة 5٪ والمروية بشكل طبيعي بنسبة 10٪) ، حدد مؤتمر علماء الزكاة المعاصرين البارزين معدلات زكاة الأصول الثابتة إما بنسبة 5٪ أو 10٪ بناءً على السهولة النسبية أو المشقة في تقييم الأصول (5٪ إذا كان من الصعب تحديد الدخل الدقيق من عقار إيجار ، 10٪) إذا كان من السهل) ؛ و بِمعدل نصف هذا المعدل (أقل من 5٪ زكاة على الأصول الثابتة) أو 2.5٪ للأصول الإيجارية المنقولة.

هذه التقييمات الزكوية التي يتم إجراؤها من الدخل الصافي للعقار المؤجر (وليس أصله) ، بعد خصومات الصيانة ، و ضرائب الممتلكات ، وجميع تكاليف التشغيل ذات الصلة ، مثل الأجور والمزايا المدفوعة للعمال ، إلخ.

هناك تمييز إضافي بين الأراضي الزراعية والإنتاج (المحاصيل) وإيجار الممتلكات والدخل (منتجها): لا تنخفض قيمة الأراضي الزراعية عادةً كما هو الحال بالنسبة للأصول المؤجرة (مبنى أو سيارة ، على سبيل المثال). يصحح العلماء هذا الاختلاف من خلال إطفاء تكلفة استبدال الأصل الإيجاري بمرور الوقت قبل حساب مدفوعات الزكاة المستحقة على صافي دخل الأصول الإيجارية المتبقية.

ماذا لو كانت الممتلكات المستأجرة هي مصدر الدخل الوحيد أو المصدر الرئيسي للدخل؟

الزكاة لا تأخذ من الحد الأدنى من الاحتياجات المعيشية الأساسية للفرد. قد يقتطع المرء السكن ، والغذاء ، والملبس ، والمواصلات ، والتعليم ، والاحتياجات الصحية (وغيرها من الاحتياجات المعيشية الأساسية) قبل تقدير مدفوعات الزكاة على دخل الإيجار ، إذا كان هذا هو مصدر الدخل الرئيسي.

بالطبع ، هناك مسألة تحديد ما هو الحد الأدنى والأساسي. يدعو علماء المسلمين إلى أن يتم هذا التحديد من قبل خبراء (انظر ما هي المتطلبات التي تؤهل الثروة للزكاة؟). لكن هذا قد لا يكون من السهل الوصول إليه أو تحديده. عتبة الفقر الرسمية ، على سبيل المثال ، في الولايات المتحدة غير معروفة أو اقعية. ينشر مكتب الإحصاء الأمريكي تقريرًا ثانويًا أكثر واقعية ، ولكن لا يزال من الصعب حسابه ، يسمى مقياس الفقر الخاص. ومع ذلك ، تختلف الاحتياجات المعيشية اختلافًا كبيرًا من موقع إلى آخر ، حتى داخل نفس البلد وحتى داخل المقاطعة.

قد تجد هنا إرشادات عامة في تحديد وحساب احتياجات المعيشة الأساسية (على الرغم من أن هذا يتمحور حول الولايات المتحدة).

بدلا من ذلك ، هناك بيان من النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم يأمر مقيم الزكاة "بخصم الثلث ، أو إذا لم تحسم الثلث ، فخصم الربع" ​​من تقديرات الزكاة أو توقعات مزارعي التمور والعنب ، لتمكين هؤلاء المزارعين من تلبية احتياجاتهم الغذائية الأساسية واحتياجات أسرهم من محاصيلهم.

ربما ، قد يشكل هذا معادلة جيدة وسهلة لمن يعتمد على دخل الإيجار لتقسيم احتياجات المعيشة الأساسية للفرد في تقييم صافي أرباح الزكاة

متى تجب الزكاة على الإيجار؟

يأتي تاريخ استحقاق الزكاة دفع الزكاة على صافي دخل الإيجار عند اكتمال السنة القمرية (الحول) كما يتم احتسابها من التاريخ الأول الذي يتلقى فيه المرء أي مبلغ من إيرادات الإيجار، طالما أن إجمالي الدخل الصافي من الإيجارات على مدار العام يصل إلى النصاب،أي ما يعادل قيمة العملة البالغة 85 جرامًا من الذهب الخالص.على خلاف المحاصيل ، التي يتماثل فيها ، صافي إيرادات الإيجار، لا يتعين دفع الزكاة عند الحصاد أو عند الاستلام. حتى في حالة المحاصيل ، لا يزال الحصاد في أوقات مختلفة ومتعددة في نفس العام من نفس المحصول يتطلب دفعة واحدة فقط من الزكاة على إجمالي ذلك المحصول. ومن ثم ، يمكن للمرء ببساطة دفع الزكاة  السنوية المحددة على صافي دخل الإيجار.

Is Zakat Owed on Rental Property?

1920x1080 Image

The brief answer?

Yes, if its increase reaches niṣâb (the specified value threshold of Zakat) during the passage of an Islamic lunar year (ḥawl). Rental properties are a specialized form of business wealth called “exploited assets” — a holding not obtained for trade or sale in and of itself but intended to provide its owner with financial growth through earnings or the sale of what it produces. Most scholars set the niṣâb of Zakat for rental income at the currency equivalent of 85 grams of pure gold.

The Zakat rate on rental property earnings is, in the best scholarly opinion, either 5% or 10%, depending upon the ease and accuracy of its calculation (10% in the great majority of cases), after deductions of directly related business expenses and liabilities, and the owner’s essential personal needs.

The detailed answer?

Scholars establish the basis for paying Zakat on rental properties on analogy with agricultural land, and specifically in the case of farmland rented out by its owner. A principle rule of Zakat is that one does not pay Zakat twice on the same yield, and that includes two or more parties paying Zakat on the same wealth type or Zakatable growth, though partners may be proportionally liable for the total Zakat payment on a single yield and exploited asset in accordance with their share of the produce or growth.

The majority of scholars hold that the Zakat obligation is on the owner of the land’s output, that is, the farmer who plants and harvests the owned or rented land, and that Zakat payment comes due not after a lunar year but at the time of harvest, if it reaches the established niṣâb for that wealth type (see What Requirements Qualify Wealth for Zakat?).

Abû Ḥanîfah, the namesake of the Ḥanafî school of Islamic Law, holds, in a minority opinion, that the Zakat falls on the land itself and is, therefore, due upon the owner of the land.

The best opinion reconciles these majority and minority views with two shared but separate Zakat payments at the prophetically established agricultural Zakat rate of 5% on irrigated fields and 10% on naturally watered land.

  1. The farmer who rents the land pays Zakat on the crop yield at harvest after deducting the land-rental cost, if the yield thereafter still reaches its niṣâb, or Zakat payment threshold.

  2. The landowner pays Zakat on the portion of the land’s growth that he or she receives, namely, the rent portion, in whatever form that takes — money or crops — after deducting rent costs, including property taxes, improvements, and debts incurred, etc.

In this way, Zakat is not paid twice on the same wealth-stream, while their deductions ensure neither landowner nor farmer incurs unfair Zakat charges on portions beyond his or her individual earnings or yield.

Is Zakat owed on the rental revenue or the rental asset or both?

Scholars differed about what property one owes Zakat on. Is it the physical rented asset, which does, indeed, have a value, which may grow — an apartment building one owns, for instance?

Or is it the rental income on the property one rents, which may be a physical space, like a residence or office, etc. Or it might be an asset like a piece of jewelry or a vehicle. Some farmers rent bees, for instance, to pollinate crops.

The first view, that Zakat is owed on the physical asset itself, claims, in effect, that the proper categorization of a rental asset one acquires is properly based on analogy with trade goods that one obtains to sell:

  • One gains the asset with the specific intent to make a profit on its transfer to another

  • It is capable of value growth in and of itself

  • One gains the benefit of income from it in the interim until one sells it, which seems to guarantee its profitability.

The argument here is that no significant distinction exists between an assets rental value and the selling of an outright trade good, in which case its Zakat rate would be 2.5%.

But this view is weak on three counts:

  1. It defies the simple definition of a trade good based on the description of the Prophet, on him be peace, and his instruction to pay Zakat on assets acquired for resale at a profit.

  2. It requires cumbersome, costly, and tedious yearly appraisals of the property’s value, regardless of its type, including farms, orchards, the plants on them, yield projections, etc. This directly goes against foundational, agreed upon rulings of Zakat.

  3. As we have just witnessed worldwide through the COVID-19 pandemic, rental assets — like hotels, office space, vehicles, etc. — can lose use-value at any time for unpredictable causes of shortage, prevention, or abrupt market loss.

This leads to the conclusion that Zakat on rental property finds its most solid basis, not on the asset itself, but on the income it produces.

Why isn’t rental property’s Zakat rate 2.5% like other revenues?

As stated at the outset, Zakat on rental property has its basis in an analogy with agricultural land. It is not a trade good, as we’ve just seen. The income of rental property is like crops grown on farmland. The farmer harvests produce from the established land he or she cultivates. The rental property owner reaps the revenue of the stable property — buildings, factories, office space, homes, cars, tools, jewelry — he or she rents out.

The norm on living spaces, homes, for example, or a craftsman’s tools, is that they are Zakat-exempt for the ones for whom they satisfy an essential personal need. Residences, or assets, that one rents out for income are Zakatable because they are profitable, growing assets, and all growth assets have Zakat due on them to purify their wealth and the souls of their owners from worldly taint.

This is not a purely modern opinion. Aḥmad ibn Ḥanbal, the namesake of the Ḥabalî school of Islamic law, owned shops that he rented out and paid Zakat on their income. The Prophet, on him be peace, also levied Zakat at 5% on moveable assets (remember the bees rented out for pollination, or car rentals today) and 10% on fixed assets (buildings, residences, etc. in our time). He did this, on him be peace, only on the income such assets yielded, not on the assets themselves, which could not be divided to pay Zakat directly out of.

Analogizing rental Zakat rates based on this prophetic distinction of Zakat rates between mobile and fixed assets (mobile being half the fixed asset rate), and comparing productive fixed assets today to agricultural yield (irrigated at 5% and naturally watered at 10%), a conference of prominent modern scholars of Zakat distinguished the Zakat rates of fixed assets at either 5% or 10% based on the relative ease or hardship of the assets’ assessment (5% if it’s difficult to determine exact income from a rental property, 10% if it’s easy); and at half that rate (of the lower 5% Zakat rate on fixed assets), or 2.5%, for transportable rental assets.

These Zakat assessments one makes out of the rental property’s net income (not its principal), after deductions for maintenance, property taxes, and all related operating costs, like wages and benefits paid to workers, etc.

There is a further distinction between agricultural land and output (crops) and rental property and income (its product): farmland does not normally depreciate as does a rental asset (a building or car, for example). Scholars correct for this difference by allowing for established depreciation or amortization of the rental asset’s replacement cost over time before calculating the due Zakat payment on the remaining rental asset’s net income.

What if a rental property is one’s only or major source of income?

Zakat never takes from one’s minimal essential living needs. One may deduct one’s housing, food, clothing, transportation, education, and health needs (and other essential living needs) before assessing one’s Zakat payment on rental income, if that is one’s major or vital source of income.

Of course, there is the issue of determining what is minimal and essential. Muslim scholars call for such determination to be made by experts and not self-determined (see What Requirements Qualify Wealth for Zakat?). But this may not be easy to access or determine. The official poverty threshold, for example, in the U.S. is notoriously stingy and unrealistic. The U.S. Census Bureau publishes a more realistic, but still difficult to calculate, secondary report called the Special Poverty Measure. Yet living needs nonetheless vary widely from location to location, even within the same country and even county.

You may find broad guidance in determining and calculating essential living needs (though this is U.S.-centric) here.

Alternatively, there is a statement of the Prophet, on him be peace, instructing a Zakat assessor (muṣaddiq) to “discount one-third, or if you do not discount one-third, then discount one-fourth” from the Zakat assessments or projections of farmers of dates and grapes, to enable these growers to meet their own and their families’ basic nutritional needs from their crops.

Perhaps, this may form a good and easier formula for one dependent on rental income to segment out one’s essential living needs in the assessment of one’s Zakatable net earnings.

When does Zakat from rental income come due?

The Zakat Due Date (ZDD) for the Zakat payment on net rental income comes at the completion of a lunar year (ḥawl) as calculated from the first date that one receives any amount of rental income, as long as the total net rental income over the year amounts to niṣâb, the equivalent of the currency value of 85 grams of pure gold.

Unlike crops, to which it is analogized, net rental income Zakat does not have to be paid at harvest or upon receipt. Even in the case of crops, harvesting at different and multiple times in the same year of the same crop still requires only one payment of Zakat on the total of that crop. Hence, one may simply pay the Zakat on net rental income on its established, yearly ZDD.