3 حقائق مُحزنة عن أزمة اليمن

736x414 Image

تعتبر أزمة اليمن من أسوأ الأزمات الإنسانية في تاريخ البشرية، حيث نشاهد الشعب اليمني على مدى السنوات السبع الماضية يعاني من الصراع وندرة الغذاء والجوع والمجاعة و جائحة عالمية.

لسوء الحظ،أدى انتشار وباء كورونا إلى تفاقم الأزمة إلى مستويات لا يمكن تحملها تقريبًا.

فيما يلي 3 حقائق يجب أن تعرفها عن أزمة اليمن:

أدى الصراع إلى انهيار البنية التحتية لليمن

تخيل عدم القيام بالمهام اليومية العادية التي نقوم بها جميعًا كأمر مسلم به، مثل الحصول على مصدر رزق أو الذهاب إلى المدرسة. منذ عام 2015 ، أدى الصراع في اليمن إلى تدمير البنية التحتية للبلاد و نتيجة لذلك ،العملية التعليمية معطلة ، ويفتقر الشعب اليمني إلى  البنية التحتية، ولا يعرف أين يجد الطعام ، وأكثر من ذلك.

24 مليون يمني بحاجة إلى مساعدات إنسانية

بسبب الصراع والمجاعة ، فإن غالبية اليمنيين يعانون من الجوع وعلى حافة المجاعة. يحتاج 80٪ من سكان اليمن إلى مساعدات إنسانية للبقاء على قيد الحياة. غالبية اليمنيين الذين يعانون هم من النساء والأطفال. وفقًا لليونيسف ،  30 ألف طفل يموتون كل عام، ويلعب سوء التغذية دورا أساسيا في موتهم.

معدلات التطعيم في اليمن منخفضة

معدل التطعيم في اليمن منخفض للغاية لدرجة أن الوباء جعل الوضع مزريًا بالنسبة للمدنيين. ذكرت رويترز أن 0.6٪ فقط من اليمنيين تم تطعيمهم ضد فيروس كورونا.

لماذا يحدث هذا؟ اليمنيون لا يستطيعون الحصول على الرعاية الصحية. منذ اندلاع النزاع في عام 2015 ، فقط نصف مرافق الرعاية الصحية في اليمن تعمل،وذلك لِنقص في الكادر البشري نتيجة المجاعة والجوع،الأمر الذي يعرض الأطفال بشكل خاص للأمراض التي يمكن الوقاية منها مثل الحصبة وشلل الأطفال.

كتب مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية أن طفلاً دون سن الخامسة يموت كل 10 دقائق ، لأسباب يمكن الوقاية منها.

كيف يمكن للعالم المساعدة؟ أولا ، يجب أن نتحمل مسؤولية تقديم المساعدة الإنسانية. نحن ملتزمون بتقديم الإغاثة إلى اليمن كما فعلنا طوال العقدين الماضيين. نتعهد بتقديم الإغاثة الغذائية الفورية ، والزراعة المستدامة طويلة الأجل،والمياه النظيفة. انضموا إلينا في حماية إخواننا وأخواتنا اليمنيين.

3 Heartbreaking Facts About the Yemen Crisis

736x414 Image

The Yemen crisis is considered one of the worst humanitarian crises in human history. For the past seven years, we have witnessed the people of Yemen suffer from conflict, food scarcity, hunger, starvation, and now a global pandemic.

Unfortunately, the pandemic has only worsened the crisis to almost untenable proportions.

Here are 3 facts about the Yemen crisis that you should know:

Conflict Has Crumbled Yemen's Infrastructure

Imagine not carrying out the daily tasks that we all take for granted, such as having a livelihood or going to school. Since 2015, the conflict in Yemen has decimated the country's infrastructure. As a result, the Yemeni people do not have open schools, lack access to roads, don't know where to find food, and more.

24 Million Yemenis Need Humanitarian Assistance

Due to conflict and famine, a majority of Yemenis are going hungry to the brink of starvation. A staggering 80% of Yemen's population needs humanitarian assistance to survive. The majority of Yemenis suffering are women and children. According to UNICEF, 30,000 children in Yemen die yearly of malnutrition as one of the most important underlying causes.

Yemen's Vaccination Rates Are Low

Yemen's vaccination rate is so low that the pandemic has made the situation dire for civilians. Reuters reports that only 0.6% of Yemenis are vaccinated against the coronavirus.

Why is this happening? Yemenis can't access health care. Since the start of the conflict in 2015, only half of Yemen's health care facilities are still operating. With people already weakened by famine and hunger, children are especially vulnerable to preventable diseases like measles and polio.

The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs has written that a child under the age of 5 dies every 10 minutes, on average, of preventable causes.

How can the world help? First, we must take on the responsibility of providing humanitarian assistance. We committed to bringing relief to Yemen as we have for the last two decades. We pledge to bring immediate food relief, long-term sustainable agriculture, and clean water. Join us in protecting our Yemeni brothers and sisters.