بيان صحفي

مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية و UNICEF USA تشتركان في تدفئة الأفغان هذا الشتاء

UNICEF USA + Zakat Foundation of America

إن عبارة "على شفا الانهيار" هي بالفعل مصطلح شائع،و يستخدم باستمرار لوصف المناخ السياسي في أفغانستان، وينطبق هذا الوصف أكثر خلال جائحة كورونا.

تعتبر أفغانستان من بين الأماكن العالمية التي تواجه درجات حرارة شديدة البرودة في فصل الشتاء وتحتاج إلى مساعدة ماسة في هذا الموسم، حيث اضطر ما يقرب من 3.5 مليون أفغاني إلى ترك منازلهم دون مكان يذهبون إليه في الوقت الذي شهدت فيه الدولة المنهارة تدني درجات الحرارة، لا يمكننا أن ندعهم يموتون نتيجة البرد القارس.

تخيل كم هو الجو بارد في المخيمات.

وقالت إنوسنت شناز البالغة 10 سنوات  لممثلي اليونيسف، "من الصعب للغاية العيش في المخيمات انها بارد جدا."

مع إمكانية مساعدة عدد لا يحصى من الأطفال مثل شناز، الأوان لم يفت بعد

لهذا السبب تعرب مؤسسة الزكاة عن فخرها بالشراكة مع (UNICEF USA) ودعمها لتوفير مستلزمات الشتاء من البطانيات، وإمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي الأساسية ، ومجموعات كاملة من الملابس الشتوية الدافئة لأولئك الذين يكافحون في درجات حرارة شديدة البرودة في أفغانستان هذا الشتاء.

وفقًا لبيانات المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، بحلول فصل الشتاء، هرب أكثر من 2.2 مليون لاجئ أفغاني إلى البلدان المجاورة، و بحلول سبتمبر من هذا العام ،سيخضع هؤلاء اللاجئون للحماية الدولية، والتي لا يستطيع معظم نظرائهم في الوطن الحصول عليها. 

وقدر مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (UNOCHA)  في ديسمبر 2021 ،أن أفغانستان ستشهد ارتفاعًا في عدد الأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة الإنسانية من 9.4 مليون في عام 2020 إلى 24.4 مليون في عام 2022  أي ما يعادل (59 ٪ من السكان) ، كما ورد في 3 ديسمبر في 16 في إحاطة إعلامية لمجلس العموم في المملكة المتحدة.

وسيواجه الأفغان في جميع أنحاء البلاد، واللاجئين الذين فروا للخارج آثار وخيمة، نتيجة الظروف الجوية القاسية والتي تأتي بالتزامن مع حالة طوارئ وباء (COVID-19).

و قالت آمنة ميرزا ​​، رئيسة قسم التسويق في مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية "إن توحيد الجهود هذا الشتاء مع (UNICEF USA)  كان منطقيًا تمامًا".

و قالت "كنا نعلم أن سنوات خدمتنا المشتركة سيكون لها تأثير فوري على السكان الأكثر ضعفاً في المنطقة". "بينما نعمل مع (UNICEF USA) منذ أكثر من عقد ، تعد هذه الشراكة خاصة لأنها توسع برنامجنا النشطة بالفعل في أفغانستان، للمساعدات الغذائية والمأوى"، مضيفةً أن حملة الشتاء هذه ستنقذ الأرواح وتوفر الدفء للأيدي الأكثر هشاشة ، و الأقدام الصغيرة ، والخدود المتشققة لطفل بريء يعاني من البرد في المخيمات ".

من جانبها قالت ليزلي غولدمان ، نائبة رئيس (UNICEF USA)  للشراكات العالمية: "إن اليونيسف ممتنة للغاية لمؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية على هذه الشراكة لدعم الأطفال في أفغانستان". "لا يمكن أن يأتي هذا في وقت أكثر خطورة ونحن ندخل أبرد أشهر الشتاء في أفغانستان. وبدعم من مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية ، ستتمكن من تقديم مساعدة عاجلة لإنقاذ حياة الأطفال والأسر الأكثر ضعفًا ".

تعمل المنظمتان معًا في الميدان وفي كافة الظروف وبخاصة في الشتاء، منذ ما يقرب من 100 عام ، وتقدمان المساعدات الإنسانية بتفانٍ ونزاهة،حيث تعمل مؤسسة الزكاة في الميدان في أفغانستان منذ 20 عامًا ، و تقدم المساعدات الإنسانية ، واليونيسف التي تتمتع بخبرة تزيد عن 75 عامًا ، تقدم المساعدة الإنسانية للأطفا

Press Release

Zakat Foundation of America, UNICEF USA partner to warm Afghans this winter

UNICEF USA + Zakat Foundation of America

“On the brink of collapse” is already a popular idiom, and it is constantly being used to describe Afghanistan’s political climate. Through the pandemic, though, this description has been increasingly apt.

Among all the places in our world being faced with deathly cold temperatures, Afghanistan is in dire need this winter. Nearly 3.5 million Afghans have been driven away from their homes with nowhere to go at a time when frigid temperatures sweep across the fallen nation. We cannot let the fierce cold become deadly for them.

Imagine how cold it is in the camps.

Innocent Shanaz, age 10, tells UNICEF representatives, “It’s too difficult to live in the camps. It’s so cold.” We can help countless children like Shanaz. It’s not too late.

That is why Zakat Foundation of America is proudly partnering with UNICEF USA to support UNICEF in providing blankets, heavy-duty tarps, essential water and sanitation supplies, and full sets of warm winter clothing to those struggling in Afghanistan’s frigid temperatures this winter.

Going into the winter, more than 2.2 million Afghan refugees went to neighboring countries by September this year, according to data from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. These refugees are under international protection, which most of their counterparts back home are unable to receive. In December 2021, the UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA) estimated Afghanistan would see a rise in people in need of humanitarian assistance from 9.4 million in 2020 to 24.4 million in 2022 (59% of the population), as reported Dec. 16 in a United Kingdom House of Commons briefing.

Harsh weather conditions in conjunction with a largely unmitigated COVID-19 emergency will have dire effects on Afghans throughout the country and Afghan refugees who have already fled it.

“Joining forces this winter with UNICEF USA to help the people of Afghanistan made perfect sense,” said Zakat Foundation of America’s Chief Marketing Officer, Amna Mirza.

“We knew our combined years of service would make an immediate impact on the region’s most vulnerable populations,” Mirza said. “While we’ve been working with UNICEF for over a decade, this partnership is special because it extends our already active food aid and shelter program in Afghanistan. This winter campaign will save lives. It allows us to warm the most fragile hands, the coldest little feet, and the cracked, chubby cheeks of an innocent child suffering through the cold in the camps.”

“UNICEF USA is incredibly grateful to Zakat Foundation of America for this partnership in support of children in Afghanistan,” said Leslie Goldman, UNICEF USA Vice President of Global Partnerships. “This couldn’t have come at a more critical time as we enter the coldest winter months in Afghanistan. With Zakat Foundation of America’s support, UNICEF will be able to provide urgent life-saving assistance for the most vulnerable children and families.”

Together, both organizations have been on the ground – and in the snow – for nearly 100 years, providing humanitarian aid with dedication and integrity. Zakat Foundation has been on the ground in Afghanistan for the past 20 years, providing humanitarian aid with dedication and integrity, and UNICEF, with over 75 years of experience, is providing humanitarian assistance to the most vulnerable children and responding to the needs of over 24 million people in Afghanistan.