بيان صحفي

مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية ترعى  برنامج الأخ علي (The Travelers Podcast)

3 29 22 brother ali

قال  كيث إليسون المدعي العام لولاية مينيسوتا: "لطالما اعتقدت أن هناك رابطًا وثيقًا للغاية بين التعبير الفني والحركات الاجتماعية الملهمة". "أنت تقف تمامًا عند نقطة التقاء  هذين الأمرين."


جاء ذلك خلال حديث اليسون مع الأخ علي على (The Travelers Podcast)، حيث يكتشف الأخ علي من خلال موهبته كفنان مرموق في موسيقى الهيب هوب وناشطًا وزعيم مجتمع مسلم ، رحلة الحياة مع رموز ثقافية وأساتذة روحيين وقادة فكريين من جميع أنحاء العالم مثل إليسون.

يرى الأخ علي ضيوفه كمسافرين مشاركين في مغامرة الحياة ، وهو يجمع المستمعين على نحو وثيق وشخصي مع اولئك الاشخاص المميزين الذين يساعدونهم في إنارة الطريق.


يمكن للموسيقى،وخاصة الهيب هوب،أن تكون محفزة في إلهام الأفراد والمجتمعات على حد سواء لرفع مستوى الإخوة والأخوات المحتاجين. يوسع الأخ علي من مينيابوليس بولاية مينيسوتا هذا الإلهام، من خلال محادثات البودكاست حول العدالة الاجتماعية والعرق والدين وغير ذلك،وهو يبحر بحياته الخاصة من خلال النقاش مع الآخرين.

تتشرف مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية برعاية بودكاست الأخ علي Brother Ali’s podcast ، حيث عمل الأخ علي و مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية معًا لسنوات عديدة ،وناضلوا من أجل التهميش في المجتمعات المختلفة.  حيث كانت البداية عندما احتفلوا معًا في عام 2016 بالذكرى الخمسين لمسيرة الدكتور مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور في ماركيت بارك في  مدينة شيكاغو، وانضموا  إلى ائتلاف من المنظمات الدينية والسياسية والمجتمعية في مهرجان ستريتس للموسيقى الحضرية الذي أقامته (Inner-City Muslim Action Network).


كان الأخ علي من بين العديد من المشاهير المسلمين من جميع أنحاء العالم الذين قدموا عروضهم في احتفال مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية بالعيد Zakat Foundation of America’s once-only Eid-In-Place celebration in 2020. تتضمن سيرته الذاتية التي امتدت لعقدين من الزمن وزع خلالها ثمانية ألبومات نالت استحسانا كبيرا، وارشادات مع أساطير موسيقى الهيب هوب الشهيرة تشاك دي و Rakim ، وعروضًا في برامج حوارية في وقت متأخر من الليل مع Jimmy Fallon و Conan O'Brien.


قال الأخ علي في تدوينة صوتية لهBrother Ali said in his podcast: "إنه لشرف عظيم وامتنان وصدق أن نكون شراكة مع مؤسسة الزكاة ، وتحديداً برنامجهم لخدمة الأيتام في جميع أنحاء العالم. الزكاة ركن من أركان العقيدة الإسلامية ، وفي حياة المسلمين ، هذا جزء من ديننا يتعامل مع الأعمال الخيرية. وهي حقيقة عالمية أن كل تقليد روحي،وكل تقاليد الحكمة ، سيقولون لنا جميعًا أنه إذا أردنا أن ننمو، فعلينا أن نعطي".


"في التقاليد الإسلامية ، تعني الزكاة على وجه التحديد أننا نبذل قصارى جهدنا لكسب عيشنا بطرق محترمة وفاضلة ، ولكن طبيعة المال و العمل والحالة الإنسانية والعالم الذي نعيش فيه يمكن أن يؤدي إلى اختلاط الأموال مع أموال ربما جاءت من مصادر حرام. ونحن نطهر ارواحنا واموالنا بالتبرع  والتصدق وإخراج الزكاة لذلك يجب أن تكون الأموال من كسب حلال.


شارك الأخ علي حماسه لبرنامج رعاية الأيتام في مؤسسة الزكاة الأميركية،حيث   تذهب 100٪ من أموال رعاية الأيتام لهم مباشرة،Zakat Foundation of America’s orphan sponsorship program مع الحفاظ على تكلفة الكفالة البالغة 50 دولارًا شهريًا (أو 600 دولار للعام بأكمله) لكل يتيم، حيث يحصل الأطفال الأيتام على رعاية صحية شاملة (نفسية وجسدية) ، والتعليم ، وثلاث وجبات  غذائية في اليوم ، وهدايا العيد التي تدخل السعادة على قلوبهم. حددت مؤسسة الزكاة هدفها في رعاية 10000 يتيم حول العالم هذا العام.


وقال الأخ علي "لا يستخدم من تلك الأموال في دفع راتب أي شخص ، أ وتغطية أي مصاريف إدارية ،لذا  إذا تبرعت لهذا المشروع ، فإن 100٪ تذهب مباشرة إلى الأيتام"، مضيفاً أن أمرً آخرً يجب عليك معرفته هو أن لدى مؤسسة الزكاة  أشخاصًا على الأرض للمراقبة والتأكد من أن التبرعات تذهب لمستحقيها على أكمل وجه.

Press Release

Zakat Foundation of America sponsors Brother Ali’s The Travelers Podcast

3 29 22 brother ali

“I’ve always believed there’s a very tight link between artistic expression and inspiring social movements,” Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison said. “You stand right at the nexus of those two things.”

He was talking to Brother Ali, who hosts The Travelers Podcast. As a respected hip hop artist, activist, and Muslim community leader, Brother Ali explores life’s journey with cultural icons, spiritual masters, and thought leaders from across the globe like Ellison. Brother Ali sees his guests as co-travelers in the adventure that is life, and he brings listeners up close and personal with those special people who help light the way.

Music, especially hip hop, can be provocative in inspiring individuals and communities alike to uplift brothers and sisters in need. Brother Ali, from Minneapolis, Minnesota, extends that inspiration into podcast conversations about social justice, race, religion and more as he navigates his own life through discussions with others.

Zakat Foundation of America is honored to sponsor Brother Ali’s podcast. Brother Ali and Zakat Foundation of America have worked together for years, fighting for the underrepresented in different communities. Together, they commemorated in 2016 the 50th anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s march at Marquette Park in Chicago, joining a coalition of religious, political, and community organizations at the Inner-City Muslim Action Network’s Takin’ It To The Streets urban music festival.

Brother Ali was among several Muslim celebrities from around the world who performed at Zakat Foundation of America’s once-only Eid-In-Place celebration in 2020. His two-decade resume includes eight critically acclaimed albums, mentorships with iconic Hip Hop legends Chuck D and Rakim, and performances on late night talk shows with Jimmy Fallon and Conan O’Brien.

“So honored and grateful and honestly really humbled to be partnering with Zakat Foundation, specifically their program to serve orphans around the world,” Brother Ali said in his podcast. “Zakat is a pillar of the Islamic faith, and in the life of Muslims, this is the part of our religion that deals with charity. And it’s a universal reality that every spiritual tradition, all of the wisdom traditions, they’re all going to say to us that if we want to grow, then we have to give.

“In the Islamic tradition, zakat specifically means that we try our best to earn our living in ways that are honorable and respectable and virtuous, but the nature of money, the nature of business, the nature of the human condition and the world that we live in means money gets mixed up. It’s almost inevitable that we’re going to end up taking money that probably came from sources we don’t like and agree with and feel good about. We purify our income by giving back, and we purify our souls by giving back.

Brother Ali shared his enthusiasm for Zakat Foundation of America’s orphan sponsorship program, which uses 100% of each donation to support vulnerable children. It does so while maintaining the sponsorship cost of $50 per month (or $600 for the entire year) for each orphan. The children get comprehensive health care (mental and physical), education, three meals a day, and Eid gifts that warm their hearts. The organization has set a goal of sponsoring 10,000 orphans around the world this year.

“None of it pays anyone’s salary, none of it covers overhead costs, none of it covers admin,” he said. “If you donate to that project, 100% goes directly to the people they serve. Another thing that’s important to know is they have people on the ground to make sure it’s facilitated well, and with dignity, and with quality control.