المسؤولون المنتخبون في شيكاغو للمساعدة في توزيع 4 أطنان من الطعام الطازج ، معدات الوقاية الشخصية لعائلات شيكاغو اللاتينية

1920x1080 Image

شيكاغو (1 سبتمبر 2020) - في يوم الأربعاء ، 2 سبتمبر ، من الساعة 5:00 حتى 7:00 مساءً ، ستقوم مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية بتسليم وتوزيع ما يقرب من 7500 رطل من المنتجات الزراعية الطازجة و 1500 قناع طبي لعائلات بيلسن تضررت بشدة من الأثر الاقتصادي لوباء COVID-19. سيقام الحدث في أكاديمية بينيتو خواريز المجتمعية.

قال 25th Ward Alderman Byron Sigcho-Lopez: "أنا متحمس جدًا للعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع مؤسسة الزكاة لخدمة مجتمعنا. الحاجة كبيرة ، وأنا هنا للخدمة. احسبني في أي شيء."

يأتي إغاثة معدات الوقاية الشخصية (PPE) الطبية والطبية (معدات الحماية الشخصية) للعائلات في أعقاب تعليق الكونجرس للعمال ليجف من خلال ترك إعانات البطالة التي تبلغ 600 دولار في الأسبوع تنتهي صلاحيتها في 25 يوليو. إغلاق الشركات ، والحملات القمعية العنيفة للشرطة على الحشود المتزايدة من الاحتجاجات المتنوعة المناهضة للعنصرية ، تواجه العائلات العاملة الأمريكية ، ولا سيما تلك الموجودة في المجتمعات اللاتينية والأمريكية الأفريقية والأمريكية الأصلية ، تحديات مالية هائلة.

قال خليل دمير ، المدير التنفيذي لمؤسسة الزكاة ، وهي مؤسسة خيرية إنسانية دولية مقرها في إلينوي مقرها في بريدجفيو ، "تعني التقوى التصرف بسرعة مع التعاطف مع المستضعفين". "لم ننتظر دعوة. لقد انتقلنا في جميع أنحاء البلاد لجلب هؤلاء الضحايا للعنصرية والاضطهاد أبسط مصدر رزق للحياة مقطوع عنهم - الفواكه الطازجة والخضروات والحليب ".

قدمت المؤسسة الخيرية العالمية حوالي 1.3 مليون رطل من المنتجات والحليب ومئات الآلاف من مواد الوقاية الشخصية إلى عدد لا يحصى من مجتمعات الرعاية الصحية والغذائية الصحراوية من الساحل إلى الساحل. تجري المنظمة هذا التوزيع بالشراكة مع UNO (منظمة الجوار المتحدة) ، وأكاديمية Benito Juarez ، و Heartland Alliance.

قالت Sigcho-Lopez: "أود أن أشكر مؤسسة الزكاة كثيرًا لتفكيرها فينا". "مكتبي أكثر من مسرور للمساهمة بأي صفة."

وسينضم إلى ألدرمان سيجو لوبيز عضو الكونجرس الأمريكي تشوي جارسيا ، وسيناتور الولاية توني مونوز ، وعضو الكونجرس تشوي جارسيا ، وممثل الولاية تيريزا ماه. رئيس مجلس إدارة مقاطعة كوك توني بريكوينكل ومفوض مقاطعة كوك ألما أنايا. إلى جانب عمال الإغاثة في مؤسسة الزكاة ، سيقومون بتوزيع 300 صندوق من المنتجات الطازجة من المزارعين المحليين.

كما ستستفيد مجتمعات اللاجئين والمهاجرين الذين يعيشون في بلسن والأحياء المحيطة بها من توزيع الطعام والأقنعة الطبية. ستحصل كل عائلة على صندوق إنتاج يزن 25 رطلاً وحقيبة واحدة تحتوي على خمسة أقنعة واقية.

على مدى عقدين من الزمن ، وقفت مؤسسة الزكاة مع المظلومين ، وقدمت المساعدة للمجتمعات الممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا في جميع أنحاء العالم. قالت آمنة ميرزا ​​، رئيسة قسم التسويق والاتصالات في المؤسسة الخيرية العالمية ، التي ابتكرت في الأصل فكرة حملة إنقاذ الطعام الطازج لمؤسسة الزكاة: "الآن ليس وقتًا لنبقى صامتين". "هذا ما ترمز إليه مؤسسة الزكاة. لتشعر حقًا بالاتصال ببعضها البعض. لفهم محنة جارنا. ليشعر بالتعاطف. لفهم أن إنسانيتنا هي التي تربطنا. إنه يضع إنسانيتنا المشتركة فوق ما يفرقنا ".

تفاصيل الحدث
من مؤسسة الزكاة الأمريكية ؛ منظمة الجوار المتحدة؛ أكاديمية بينيتو خواريز المجتمعية ؛ جوليتا بوليفار ، مسؤولون محليون منتخبون
ماذ

توزيع مجاني للمنتجات الطازجة والأقنعة الطبية

متي

الأربعاء 2 سبتمبر 2020
(5:00 مساءً - 7:00 مساءً ، أو حتى نفاد الطعام)

أين

أكاديمية بينيتو خواريز المجتمعية
1450 W Cermak Rd، Chicago، IL 60608

Chicago Elected Officials to help distribute 4 tons of fresh food, PPE to Chicago Latino families

1920x1080 Image

Chicago (Sept. 1, 2020) — On Wednesday, Sept. 2, from 5:00 to 7:00 pm, Zakat Foundation of America will deliver and distribute approximately 7,500 pounds of farm-fresh produce, and 1,500 medical masks to Pilsen families hit hard by the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. The event will take place at Benito Juarez Community Academy.

"I am so excited to serve alongside Zakat Foundation to serve our community,” said 25th Ward Alderman Byron Sigcho-Lopez. “The need is huge, and I am here to serve. Count me in for anything.”

The food and medical PPE (personal protective equipment) relief for hurting families comes in the wake of Congress hanging workers out to dry by letting the $600-a-week unemployment benefits expire on July 25. Rocked by COVID-19 surges, months of intermittent business shutdowns, and violent police crackdowns on growing crowds of diverse anti-racism protests, American working families and particularly those in Latino, African American and Native American communities are facing enormous financial challenges.

“Godliness means acting quickly with compassion for the vulnerable,” said Halil Demir, executive director of Zakat Foundation, a Bridgeview, Illinois-based international humanitarian charity increasingly called to serve the suffering here at home. “We didn’t wait for an invitation. We’ve moved all across the country to bring these victims of racism and persecution the most basic sustenance of life cut from them — fresh fruits, vegetables, and milk.”

The global charity has delivered about 1.3 million pounds of produce, milk, and hundreds of thousands of PPE items into countless food- and health care desert communities from coast to coast. The organization is conducting this distribution in partnership with UNO (United Neighborhood Organization), Benito Juarez Academy, and Heartland Alliance.

“I want to thank Zakat Foundation so much for thinking of us,” said Sigcho-Lopez. “My office is more than glad to contribute in any capacity.”

Alderman Sigcho-Lopez will be joined by U.S. Congressman Chuy García, State Senator Tony Munoz, Congressman Chuy Garcia and State Representative Theresa Mah. Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle and Cook County Commissioner Alma Anaya. Along with Zakat Foundation relief workers, they’ll distribute 300 crates of produce fresh from local farmers.

Refugee and immigrant communities who live in Pilsen and its surrounding neighborhoods will also benefit from the food and medical mask distribution. Each family will receive a 25-pound produce box and one bag containing five protective masks.

“For two decades, Zakat Foundation has stood with the oppressed, providing aid to underrepresented communities throughout the world. Now is no time for us to stay silent,” said Amna Mirza, the global charity’s head of marketing and communications, who originally conceived the idea of Zakat Foundation’s fresh-food rescue campaign. “This is what Zakat Foundation stands for. To truly feel connected to each other. To understand the plight of our neighbor. To feel empathy. To understand it’s our humanity that connects us. It’s putting our common humanity above what divides us.”

Event Details
Who Zakat Foundation of America; United Neighborhood Organization; Benito Juarez Community Academy; Julieta Bolivar, local elected officials
What

FREE fresh produce and medical mask distribution

When

Wednesday, Sept. 2, 2020
(5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m., or until food runs out)

Where

Benito Juarez Community Academy
1450 W Cermak Rd, Chicago, IL 60608